Oh I do like to be beside the seaside

Not pretty...

Not pretty…

Today was pretty quiet so when I headed out for a run I was planning to capture a nice picture of the sunset down the beach and leave it at that. However, when I was out something completely different caught my eye – the beach was strewn with rubbish. It was everywhere. There were bags, boxes, bottles, barbecues, everything. The picture that I took may not be as pretty as the potential sunset picture but I think this was a little more interesting.

The sun brings everybody down to the beach here. I understand the appeal, we don’t get that much sun so we might as well make the most of it while we can. Looking at the beach though, it was shocking the way that people completely disregarded the environment around them and felt that it was acceptable to dump their rubbish on the sand.

It is true in other areas too. In the Highlands there are several bothies/bunkhouses that seasoned walkers will go nowhere near due to their knowledge of the state that they get into from city-dwellers enjoying many a raucous night there. It doesn’t seem all that difficult to me: you drop it, you pick it up; you use it, you replace it. Surely we are not asking much that the beach/the hills/ the slopes be left as they were found but it seems that this is too big an ask for some people.

Leave a comment